5 Stages Of Information Technology Project Life Cycle

5 Stages Of Information Technology Project Life Cycle

5 Stages Of Information Technology Project Life Cycle



In my previous article, I have talked about some of the facts that you need to know about the stages of Information Technology Life Cycle. In this article, I want to look at the five stages of Information Technology Project Life Cycle. First and foremost, I will want you to understand that the IT Project life cycle is not really a life cycle on its own, it’s just that some of the processes have to be modified so that they can reflect the type of project that you are going to execute. Follow me as we are going to look at that together in this article.



Here are the phases….

#1 Requirement gathering

At the requirement gathering stage of the project life cycle, the requirements that have been gathered during the planning phase of the project are now refined to determine the technical and functional requirements for the software and application. This will allow the project manager to determine what needed to be done in order to fulfill those requirements. It will also allow them to determine whether they have the desired skill sets that are needed in order to achieve the objectives of the project.


When all these requirements are identified and the required functional and technical requirements are also identified for the project, you now need to document it in a document that will allow you to trace the requirements from the beginning to the end of the project. Also, some of the documents that you needed at this stage of the project include requirements documents as well as the Requirement Traceability Matrix.


#2 Design

At the Design phase of the project, the design elements are created for each of the requirements identified for the project. The Design elements represent the detailed features of the projects. It contains some of the features that the deliverables must have in order to perform the purpose that it is designed for.


Also, you need to understand that the Design Phase can be divided into two major phases which include High-Level Design and Low-Level Design. This at times can be seen as distinct phases of the project.


#3 Build and test

The next phase of the project can be referred to as the Build and Test Phase. At this phase of the project, you are actually trying to implement what you have planned for the project. This only happened when you have identified all the features that your project should have. Apart from building the deliverables for the project at this phase, you will also need to test each of the components that you have designed for the project. This is to ensure that all the components are working the way they supposed to work before they are handed over to end users.


#4 Integration Test

After you might have to test each of the components of an IT project individually in order to be sure that they are working the way they supposed to work, you need to test them as a whole. During this phase of the project, the whole application is tested and migrated to the test environment. When these tests are carried out, the help and documentation files are now created in order to assist users who need to make use of the deliverables of the projects.


#5 Deployment

During the deployment phase of the project, the application and all other components are released to the work environment for users. This can only happen when all the components have been tested and we are sure that all components of the project are working the way they supposed to work.



Action Point

If you have any comment or contributions to this article or any of our articles, please let us know your view in the comment section. Thanks.

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


CommentLuv badge